IND vs ZIM T20 WC 2022 Match 42

India beat Zimbabwe by 71 runs yesterday in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 Super 12 match at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). This was the last match of the Super 12 round.

The men in blue were already in the semi-finals after South Africa suffered a 13-run shock at the hands of the Netherlands. However, India had a lot to play for in the game against Zimbabwe as a win would have seen them finish top of the table in Group 2. And they did!

Batting first after winning the toss, Team India posted 186/5 on the board. The Wave team again lost their captain Rohit Sharma (15) cheaply as the opener pulled Blessing Muzarabani in the right direction. KL Rahul and Virat Kohli then had a steady stand of 60 for the second wicket. However, for a change, Kohli could not change his start. He fell for 26 of 25 and missed a high shot by Sean Williams.

Rahul did well to register his second consecutive half-century, but perished immediately afterwards. He was dismissed for 51 off 35, missing Sikandar Raza at long-on. Rishabh Pant managed just 3 in his WC debut.

Suryakumar Yadav (61* off 25) once again stood like a thorn in the flesh of the opposition. He hit six fours and four sixes in yet another incredible knock as Team India crossed 180.

In the chase, Wesley Madhevere fell to Bhuvneshwar Kumar for a first-ball duck and that pretty much set the tone for the innings. Arshdeep Singh (1/9), Mohammad Shami (2/14) and Hardik Pandya (2/16) all chipped in as Zimbabwe slumped to 36/5.

Raza (34 off 24) and Ryan Burl (35 off 22) gave Zimbabwe some resistance. However, off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin claimed 3/22 to run through the lower order. In the end, Zimbabwe were bowled out for 115 in 17.2 overs.

Who won Man of the Match in IND vs ZIM T20 World Cup 2022?

Suryakumar continued his phenomenal run with the bat. His unbeaten knock lifted India into the impressive conversation after they lost a few wickets rather quickly. Rahul hit another fifty in no time to get the innings off to an early start.

With the ball, Ashwin took three wickets while Shami and Pandya also impressed with two each.

For Zimbabwe, Williams dismissed Kohli and Pant. Burl scored 35 apart from two good catches.

Suryakumar was adjudged player of the match for his dominant display which put Zimbabwe on the back foot.

Quick links

More from Sportskeeda

Edited by Renin Wilben Albert

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *