Aaron Judge can match exclusive Yankees history as MVP

(Photo: Cole Burston/Getty Images)

On Thursday night, MLB will announce the winner of the MVP (Most Valuable Player) award in each division.

New York Yankees star Aaron Judge is believed to be the favorite to win the minor league championship, but St. Louis Cardinals shortstop Paul Goldschmidt is considered the leading prospect in the National League.

Judge has been on fire in the American League since his rookie season in 2017, but has never won the MVP.

The same can be said about ‘Goldy’.

If Judge wins tonight, he will join a group that has only one player in franchise history.

“If #AaronJudge wins the AL MVP tonight, becoming the second player to win Rookie of the Year and MVP awards with the Yankees, joining Thurman Munson. (credit: @SlangsOnSports)” Yankees infielder Bryan Hoch tweeted.

Judge won the AL ROY Award in 2017, slashing .284/.422/.627 with 52 home runs (a rookie record at the time) and 114 RBI.

Remembering The Great Thurman Munson

Munson was crowned the AL’s top rookie in 1970, with a .302/.386/.415 line, six home runs, 53 RBI and excellent play behind the plate.

Munson slashed .302/.337/.432 with 17 home runs, 105 RBI and 14 RBI in 1976 to earn his first and only AL MVP award.

Judge may join him if he wins the award tonight, as expected.

He had a dream season in 2022, breaking Roger Maris’ old AL record for most homers in a season with 62.

He also slashed .311/.425/.686 and drove in 131 runs.

Shohei Ohtani was phenomenal, with 34 homers as a hitter and a 2.33 ERA as a pitcher.

That alone should prevent the vote from being unanimous.

The Los Angeles Angels star didn’t quite match Judge’s season, however, as he flirted with history on several fronts.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *