ICC T20 World Cup winners over the years

Of all the sports forms that are popular all over the world, cricket is second only to football. In terms of fan following, cricket has hundreds of millions of fans in different parts of the world. Cricket, also referred to as the Gentleman’s Game, has over 2.5 billion fans worldwide. Thanks to the popularity of the sport, many national and international tournaments are held throughout the year to ensure that fans of the sport do not miss out on the fun and excitement. Moreover, most of the major cricket tournaments garner huge viewership globally. According to the reports of The Indian Express, the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, which is considered as one of the most favorite cricket events, received a television viewership of around 167 million.

Earlier, when technology had not reached its peak, every fan of the popular sports form could enjoy cricket matches on their big TV screens. Even though it was the best way to watch games, it didn’t make it easier for fans to experience the game more thoroughly. However, thanks to the digitization of the world, there are many ways that the game’s individuals can have a more realistic and immersive experience.

To begin with, one of the best ways for fans to have a more adventurous cricket experience is to play cricket fantasy games. Fantasy cricket games allow individuals to gauge their knowledge of the sport by making it easier for them to predict the outcome of different aspects of a real cricket match. At the end of the league, the player with the most points wins the game and receives an exciting prize. Indulging in fantasy cricket allows players to be more involved and updated on major tournaments like the T20 World Cup, IPL, etc. To start playing fantasy cricket games, click here.

Coming back to the ICC T20 World Cup, it is one of the most prestigious international cricket tournament where international cricket teams compete with each other to win the title of champions. The first edition of the popular tournament was played in South Africa in 2007. The latest iteration of the T20 World Cup is currently in Australia. Between the first edition of the tournament and the current one, there have been several winners over the years. This article will list down all the T20 World Cup winners over the years. Let’s dive right into it:

Winner of T20 World Cup 2007 – India

As mentioned earlier, the first edition of the prestigious T20 World Cup was held in 2007. When the tournament started, the tournament was loved by cricket fans from all over the world, primarily because it allowed fans to watch the best players and the teams against each other. and one. another by playing matches based on their favorite T20 format. The Indian cricket team became the first to win the championship by defeating Pakistan. Led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni, the men in blue defeated Pakistan in sensational fashion. Moreover, India lost only one match in the tournament viz. against New Zealand in the Super 8s rounds.

Winner of T20 World Cup 2009 – Pakistan

Source: icc-cricket.com

In the second iteration of the T20 World Cup, Pakistan won the prestigious championship by defeating Sri Lanka. The tournament was held in England and received immense love from the masses. Pakistan cricket team lost two matches in the match, one against England and another Super 8s match against Sri Lanka. However, they still managed to win the championship by showing great talent.

Winner of T20 World Cup 2010 – England

Source: telegraph.co.uk

In the third edition of the T20 World Cup, England won the championship, becoming the first team from outside Asia to achieve this feat. They defeated their arch-rivals Australia in the finals and secured the title. Although they lost their first game in the tournament against Vestmannaeyjar, they still managed to win the cup.

T20 World Cup 2012 Winner – West Indies

Source: crichiglightsvidz.com

The fourth edition of the T20 World Cup came to an end after West Indies defeated hosts Sri Lanka in the final to win the prestigious championship. Despite losing their first match of the tournament, the Caribbean came back stronger and won the title in spectacular fashion.

Winner of T20 World Cup 2014 – Sri Lanka

Source: indianexpress.com

In the fifth iteration of the T20 World Cup, Sri Lanka defeated the Indian cricket team in the final to win their first ever World Cup trophy. They suffered a loss in the group stage, but that didn’t stop them from picking themselves up and winning the tournament against all odds.

T20 World Cup 2016 Winner – West Indies

The sixth edition of the T20 World Cup witnessed history in the final as West Indies became the first team to win their second T20 World Cup. They won the trophy by beating England in the last match of the tournament. Only Afghanistan managed to beat the T20 World Cup 2016 winners in the group stage.

T20 World Cup 2021 Winner – Australia

Source: icc-cricket.com

Australia clinched the 2021 World Cup T20 trophy by defeating New Zealand in a thrilling match that fans will still remember. The final clash pitted the top two teams in the T20 World Cup 2021, with Australia coming out on top to clinch the title.

The T20 World Cup 2022 is still on and some of the top teams to watch out for are India, South Africa, New Zealand and Australia. If you want to know about the previous T20 World Cup winners, check out the aforementioned section.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *